Steamed Vermicelli


Wish you all a very happy New Year! Few months have passed by since I penned a blog and decided to get back on track. Shall we say it’s one of my New Year resolutions! Let me see how much I can keep up. Another resolution I am trying to hold on to is low levels of fat and carbs in my cooking. I believe I’ve done pretty well so far. Here is a neat recipe with wheat vermicelli and very small amount of oil. It tastes yummy and family loves it. What else can I ask for right? Typically we make a dish called “upma” and when vermicelli is used, in order to keep them separated we use extra oil. This time, I boiled the vermicelli in water like we do pasta and seasoned with vegetables. This helped in the use of very little amount of oil without compromising on the taste.

Steamed Vermicelli

Ingredients:

  1. Whole wheat vermicelli – 1 packet
  2. Onion – 1 large finely chopped
  3. Green chilies – 4-5 slit ( according to your taste)
  4. Ginger – 1 tsp finely chopped
  5. Mixed veggies – 1 cup (I used peas, carrots & beans)
  6. Lemon juice – 1 lemon
  7. Salt – according to taste
  8. Turmeric powder – ½ tsp

 For seasoning:

  1. Oil – 2tsps
  2. Mustard – 1 tsp
  3. Urud dal – 1 tsp
  4. Cashews – 5-6
  5. Curry leaves – 1 sprig
  6. Asafetida – 1 small piece

Method:

In a large pot bring water to boil and add the vermicelli. Cook till al dente. Strain the vermicelli under cold water and add half tsp oil and mix well. This will help vermicelli not to stick together.

  1. In a pan, add oil. Once the oil is hot, add mustard and let it splutter. Add the rest of the seasoning ingredients.
  2. Now add the onions, green chillies and ginger. Fry till onions turn translucent. Add the vegetables, salt & turmeric and cook till the vegetables are soft. Don’t overcook. Switch off the stove.
  3. Now add the vermicelli and the lemon juice and mix well.  Taste and add salt if needed.

This dish is excellent for snacking as well as a light dinner. Healthy, tasty and less than 30 mins to prepare. Enjoy and pls. leave a comment on my blog after trying the dish.

One thought on “Steamed Vermicelli

  1. Gr8 Recipe! You can also use Bambino roasted wheat vermicilli. It doesnt need to be boiled & cooks in the water of the upma. Tastes absolutely amazing….

Leave a comment